Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is the beginning of my fourth season of riding and after only 4800km (2976 miles) my tires have small cracks on the sidewalls. I can't figure out how to post a pic or I would. I can send them to anyone who wants to look at them. These are the original IRC tires that came with the bike. What is the warranty on the IRC tires?

·
Registered
785 Posts
I'm no expert, but I am told tires generally have a "shelf life" of only about two years. Yours are at least 3 years old now and are showing signs of age by way of cracks. There are only two contact points between you and the pavement. If one blows, you go down. IMHO, I think it's time for new tires. Now.

Ride safe
Tim

·
Premium Member
2,777 Posts
Cracks = replacement time. Period.

Warranty on OEM IRC tires...how long did it take you to get off the dealer's lot? The warranty on those tires lasted half as long.

·
Registered
1,715 Posts
try out some of this info

“When it comes to sport bikes, the subject of tires is a common topic of discussion, and few topics evoke as much passion or controversy. What is the best tire? How old of a tire should you run? When is a tire worn out? How many heat cycles will a tire last? Where is the best place to purchase replacements? What is the best tire pressure? Etc., etc., etc. The answer to every one of these questions is the same; it depends. Depends on your riding style, where, when, and how frequently you ride. However, there are some guiding basics that will help you make the best decision. One thing to remember is that tire technology is moving extremely fast. The greatest performance tire of all time from a few years ago can't even compare to today's sport-touring tires.