Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 113 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How fast will a VL 800 go, I don't wont to here a lot I think it will or it should go, I have a 2003 VL800, Anniversary edition, 11,300 miles, I run Mobil V-twin oil, with factory wind shield & Bags, I weigh 200# I know for a fact the speedometer is 5 mph fast at 70 mph, it tops out at 95 mph (Indicated) on level ground normal wind, I have debaffeled pipes, K &N air filter, drilled air cleaner cover (4) 3/4 holes along the bottom, rejeted carb, Jet size is a #.059 drill, metering rod has 3 washers under it, I run mid range fuel, I don't know what the octane is. It seems to have good all around performance, idle, mid-rang-pulls good from 40 mph in 5th gear. Best mileage is 48.9 on the road, 36 around town. I'm a retired auto teacher so I understand how thing should work. some people claim 110 mph, do I need to find a good mechanic??

·
Registered
12,595 Posts
Top speed of my 2004 Volusia on flat ground, DJ Drive, jetted for the UNI, Jardine/Peacemaker exhaust, Hot wires, 20" windshield is 92 true.

·
Registered
6,369 Posts
108 indicated, which I believe would actually be 98.

My old Seca Turbo on the other hand............... :twisted:

-Tim

·
Registered
2,714 Posts
I have the 06 fuel injected model, I have registered 106, and I know my speedo is correct. I have matched it up against my brothers honda 1300 VTX, my own car and my wife's car, all read the same.

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
02 Volusia Stock. No rejet, Just Punched a hole through the exhaust and drilled 4 holes in the back plate. DJ Drive, 21" Windshield and fully dressed with saddlebags. Mileage around town 33 MPG. Top speed 95 as indicated on speedo on the freeway, and it wouldn't do any more if its' life depended on it. :lol:

·
Registered
18,342 Posts
I can't say now....before the DJ drive that we just installed today...my top speed was about 85 screaming...rejetted, k&n filter, saddlebags w/big windshield.