Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just as the title says, what grade gas should I use in my 2006 Suzuki Boulevard?

Will i ever need an Octane Booster? I'm new to all this so any advice would be super helpful!

Thanks

·
Super Moderator
3,197 Posts
Just as the title says, what grade gas should I use in my 2006 Suzuki Boulevard?

Will i ever need an Octane Booster? I'm new to all this so any advice would be super helpful!

Thanks

The regular grade of Gas, 87 octane as it is labeled on the pump, is all you will ever need for the C50. That is what the manufacturer specifies in all the manuals and there is NO advantage to spending the extra money on the higher octane (not better octane or better gas)
watch this...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FPPkPAbzwbU

You are bound to get differing opinions... but in the end, all that really matters is MY opinion...... :biglaugh:

·
Registered
123 Posts
As a mechanic, you wouldn't believe how many people have asked me "what grade of fuel should I use in my car?" My answer is always "what your owners manual says to use". The only reason a higher octane fuel should be used is if the compression of the engine would require it, and if it does the manual will say so. Any of the suzuki 800 engines are not high enough compression to need high octane fuel, I assure you.

As a personal rule, I always research what kind of fuel to use in any of the cars, trucks, motorcycles, etc that I buy. I've even tried testing different grades of fuel in some of them and I've only ever found one that I needed to use high octane fuel in. It was a 4-stroke motocross bike that recommended 94 octane or higher. I tried it with 87 octane... Would not run. PERIOD! I actually started to blend a 94 octane fuel with a 98 octane race fuel and it worked really well!