Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone have this issue with Viking Bags? I've had them a little over a year, bike has always been garage kept. Over the last few months I've noticed the ends of the bags are curling up. At first it was just a little and I could press it back down, but now the velcro won't hold them in place anymore. The stitching and everything looks intact, the best I can tell is the leather is drying out or warping. I called Viking to see if they could recommend a leather oil/conditioner that might help to soften them up and get them back into shape but they advised me not to use any chemicals on the bags. I asked if they had heard of this before and they said no, but a quick google search says otherwise. I found several forums discussing this same issue with little to no assistance from Viking. I live in FL so the heat & humidity in my garage could be a factor but I'm not a scientist.

Anyone experience this or know of a fix?

Thanks

-CG

Attachments

·
Registered
108 Posts
I have the same ones and they are curling in the same spots. Not happy about that. I haven’t contacted the company yet.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
98 Posts
That's annoying. I wonder if that stitching thread is shrinking, pulling the ends up?
.................. Just showed my wife this, and she suggested taking the bags to the local leather/shoe shop and ask them to re stitch it with shrink proof, or flexible thread, or at least
with looser tension. (the three lines of stitching at the ends).

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
That's annoying. I wonder if that stitching thread is shrinking, pulling the ends up?
.................. Just showed my wife this, and she suggested taking the bags to the local leather/shoe shop and ask them to re stitch it with shrink proof, or flexible thread, or at least
with looser tension. (the three lines of stitching at the ends).