Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I need some help folks. I have an 03 Volusia that I keep in my dad's shop back home in NC. However, I'm currently a grad student in Georgia. I've been leaving the bike at home and only riding it when I'm home at Christmas, Spring Break, and some during the Summer. I want to bring it with me to school so I will have something to occupy my time when I'm not working. The problem is, I can't afford to store it in a unit, so it will have to stay out in the elements with just a tarp to protect it. It's such a nice looking bike that I hate to do that, especially when I spent so much time polishing her up. Since I'm a very new rider and I know many of you have ridden much longer than I have, am I placing too much importance on chrome and paint and missing the point of owning a bike? Or, are my priorities in order and I should be thinking of how to properly maintain my lady?

·
Registered
103 Posts
Tough decision. On the one hand, assuming you keep some Sea Foam in the gas and keep it on a trickle charger, your bike's fine at home with Dad; on the other hand, that means months between rides. Bummer.

If I were you, I'd consider bringing it to GA, IF:
-- the place I'd be parking it is reasonably sheltered and secure (and I had invested in some good wheel or disk locks);
-- I had a good, fitted cover for it;
-- my parking spot was paved, not grass.

I'd keep some Sea Foam or Stabil in the gas, and after every ride I'd cover it as soon as it had cooled and install my locks, with the aim of keeping the bike safe from moisture, UV fade -- and thieves.

But -- I might just reluctantly leave it at home with Dad...

·
Super Moderator
20,499 Posts