Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not a mechanic but I have done minor maintence and did install the 2" lowering bones myself. I'm not afraid to try just don't want to tear something up, wether bike or jet kit, and then have to spend more money. The dealer quoted me $60 labor to do it.

:?:

·
Registered
5,202 Posts

·
Registered
9,626 Posts
I've rejeted both carbs on by bike a few times. And did some rebuilding on a 4 carbed bike that I had. I am no machanic!

It gets easier with each time but $60 is not a bad price if they agree that if they mess up the mixture at first then they will make it right.

BUT i know the satisfaction that comes with doing things yourself.

There is a site called the the rusks. it has a jetting matrix and step by step instructions on how to do the carb. hopefully someone will come along and post a link.

·
Registered
12,595 Posts
If that $60 includes jets and pilot of your choice, no matter how good you are with working on a bike, I would go that route.

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Mort said:
If that $60 includes jets and pilot of your choice, no matter how good you are with working on a bike, I would go that route.
No that's just labor. The Jet kits is another $65

·
Registered
12,595 Posts
Others may chime in but to me rejetting the Volusia carb was 1/4 as hard as adjusting the tappets. It is about as difficult as doing a dePAIR when you remove all the PAIR plumbing. There are enough people here that can help you walk thru the rejet. Just go slow, watch out for the little O ring and make sure you have new screws for the main jet cover because you will prolly ruin them on removal. Many dealers will remove the mixture screw cover when you take the bike in at 600. Yours might already have been removed-which allows you to skip that step.

·
Registered
9,626 Posts
alex said:
Mort said:
No that's just labor. The Jet kits is another $65