Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
951 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thought I would share the latest “bike” project. Due to that I have older bikes (’05 C90 and a ’02 Bandit) and I’m a mediocre mechanic, I needed a way to single handedly, recover a dead bike.

I already had an Ultra-Tow, 4x8 aluminum folding trailer and a Harbor Freight wheel chock. I added some reinforcements and a hand winch mount to the trailer. I added fixed caster wheels to the HF chock and also made a separate lead-in ramp. All total, I have about $55 in parts to modify the trailer and wheel chock.

Since the trailer is a folder, I can pull the pins securing the front yoke and tilt the whole deck to facilitate loading the bike. While winching the bike onto the deck, when it reaches the balance point, the deck pivots to horizontal and I can pin the front yoke. I expected the deck to slam down when the bike reached the balance point, but it was actually very slow and controlled.

The pics are the 1st test of the system using by 460lb Bandit. The real test will be pulling the 700lb C90 onto the trailer. I opted for a hand winch, but after finding out it takes over 800 cranks of the handle to pull the cable 8’, I’m rethinking about using a 12vdc winch.

Reactions: Rob 61 and SJ86

·
Super Moderator
4,580 Posts
Digging it!

·
Registered
1,254 Posts
A mother of invention!(y)

·
Registered
951 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Well, the recovery trailer idea works great with the big bike . . . dammit.

The C90 died (again) on the ride to work. No warning lights, no indications there's a problem, it just stops running. It turns over great and I can hear the fuel pump doing it's thing, but it won't fire. This is the 3rd time it's happened since putting the bike back together after paint.