Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!
Once again thanks for the warm welcome. I will try and make this semi brief, but also share concern and obtain any advice you all can share with me.
I recently almost 3 weeks again Purchased a beautiful blue 2006 Suzuki Boulevard c50 , 32K Miles from a seller on Facebook Marketplace. Got the bike home actually drove it home no worries. Been out and about about 10 times so far no issues. Well then Tuesday I was driving to work in the morning and all the sudden I just lost power, no gas and lights and such stayed on but came to a coasting halt. It would crank but not start... I will be the first to admit I know VERY little about bike maintenance/repairs and well it's a spooky feeling to be stranded and not know what to do. I am a network engineer lol.. anywho.. my good friend picked me and bike up with his trailer and dropped it off to the only shop in Savannah that services Suzuki's. He said well the issues was a blown 15 amp fuse that runs your starter/fuel pump. He said not sure what may have caused that, I don't see that much... I was like hmmm. He really said could be a pinched wire, etc.. but never said that he found why.. he replaced my fuse and sent me packing 80.00 later :-( Then on my way out, he said that is a beautiful bike, and I would recommend if you plan on keeping it, that you replace the Cam Chain and tension-er??? I said oh is it critical.. he said not right now but I kind of hear it slapping or ticking, and it would be 800.00 I about fell off my bike.. so I say all of that to ask for any advice one the two items above.
1. Anyone ever had a fuse blown and could someone give me any advice on maybe to look for a cause? I bought some spares fuses just in case..
2. Cam Chain and Tension-er is this common or did I get passed a lemon?