Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sup e'rbody. New to this forum, and I also just bought my first bike. Just brought it home tonight, and its an '03 800 Boulevard Volusia. Its used of course, and trouble is, upon driving it home, it backfires like a SOB when decelerating. Dude I bought it from said its tuned rich, and carbs have been jetted for aftermarket Cobra pipes, but it backfires really bad. He said it should clear up when it warms up, but it didn't, and I've already bought the damn thing now. Its a great looking bike and sound great too, except for the backfiring problem. Any ideas on what to do to keep from happening, as I'm really new to all this. Thanks

·
Super Moderator
4,311 Posts
First post needs a hearty welcome....Hearty welcome from the Burg'
Congrats on the older Vol, any pixs?
Does these said Cobras have original Baffles still in???

·
Super Moderator
20,060 Posts
had a similar problem on my 06 c90 when I bought it back in 2014...difference between yours and mine aside from it being a 800 vs a 1500 is that your 03 is carbed vs mine which is fuel injection...fellow rider suggested to cure my problem I look into the GMan Bully...so I did and also replaced the stock air filter...which the previous owner should have done when he changed the pipes... with a K&N...problem gone. Good company to deal with...good customer service. Good luck.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6