Is this a good good buy?

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
02, Volusia 800
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! I joined this forum just to get your opinions:

I'm brand new to riding. I just took the MSF class and got my license. I'm ready to buy and sat on a Boulevard C50 at a cycle shop and really liked it. Fast forward a few weeks, I made a post on Facebook about looking for a bike. I was approached by a gentleman who is the second owner of a 2002 Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) with 12,000 miles. After a little research, I discover what you likely already know: Its the same thing, just different model years and a name change. So far, so good.

Here's where I'm seeking your opinion: I like the bike; very comfortable ( at least stationary). When I went to look at it, it wouldn't start. Dead battery. Seller said he only rides a few times a year, just wants to get rid of the bike. Didn't have it on a tender and didn't really seem like he took care of it. Seemed like he just bought it on a whim. It still had gas in the tank (about a 1/4 of a tank) and it wasn't winterized since the fall (Live in Kansas and the bike was allegedly garaged). Today he messaged me and told me he replaced the battery and it "fired right up." I don't believe the gas was treated.

The bike showed little wear and tear, but nothing concerning on the surface. Asking price is $2400. Assuming that the bike does run (going to see it on Wednesday for myself) does this seem like a good price for this bike? Is there anything I should ask when I go to see it next? What discovery would make you walk away? At this point I'm thinking that (at least in the KC area this time of year) $2400 for an 800cc bike with 12K miles on it, isn't a bad deal.

Thoughts?

Appreciate your replies!!

BG

·
Super Moderator
28,262 Posts
Welcome from Kennesaw GA!