Suzuki Volusia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So...I'm posting this from my hospital bed hoping that someone can help me out with a couple questions...

Here goes...took a ride this morning and wrecked less than 2 miles from my house. I was cruising on my 06 c50t at approximately 50-55mph down a 2 lane rd that I travel all the time when my ride was rudely interrupted by an suv that pulled out infront of me. I was able to miss the vehicle but dumped the bike :crying: Fortunately I was able to get my self out of the road without getting run over. First thing the driver said to me as he got out of his vehicle was "sorry man, I didn't see you" I ended up on a spine board and was transported to the hospital by ambulance. My injuries consist of a broken scapula (shoulder blade) and a bunch of roadrash. I got lucky...really really lucky...

So... being a firefighter, I know most of the emergency responders that responded to my wreck. I was informed by a couple fellow firefighters that the driver of the other vehicle told police that he inched forward but never actually entered my lane:evil:

Here is my dilemma ... I currently work 2 jobs (full time firefighter and construction) I have a 2 year old and a 7 month old and my wife is due with our 3rd in November. I don't know what I'm gonna do...the ortho Dr said I won't be able to lift anything heavy for up to 6 months...I'm pretty much screwed :crying:

My hospital bills are covered by my insurance through work so im not worried about those bills. BUT...Does anyone know if his insurance would cover my lost wages??? I didnt dammage his vehicle at all so Am I SOL becauseits his word against mine and no physical evidence? I hate the idea of suing somebody...but is that even possible or worth looking into??? Someone please help

I'm not trying to get rich quick or anything...I just need to take care of my wife n kids...thank you all for any advice u may have.

·
Registered