Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
534 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Before I begin, just let me preface my statements with some background info...

I have been riding machines of some sort for over 31 years. If it has wheels on it and it goes, I have ridden or at least tried to ride it.
Two, three and 4 wheels. Bikes and cagers alike. To this date, I have a spotless DMV, have never had an accident aside from getting thrown off a 3 wheeled ATV and a 4 wheeled ATV on a couple of occasions. I have owned Metric Cruisers, crotch rockets, Harleys and dual sport dirt bikes. Many of you are in the same or similar situation as me.

I try to be as safe as possible, watch other drivers, ride defensively and am not a speed demon. I have a wife and 3 girls at home. I wear a helmet regardless of what or where I am riding. I don't wear a helmet because I have a profound belief that they work...I wear one because I never want my family to think that I didn't care enough about them to try to protect myself as much as possible. Whether or not they save lives is an issue best discussed elsewhere.

I love to ride. There is no better feeling like leaving your problems scattered all over the road with a face full of wind on a warm spring day...period.

Lately, due to gasoline prices, it is becoming more of a neccessity to ride. It costs me $125.00 or more per week to drive my 4x4 truck to work and it costs me somewhere around $16.00 per week to ride my bike. There isn't a whole lot of argument there.

Here's my problem. The ever increasing danger that we as bike riders are being exposed to is making it harder to justify our love for riding or the extra $$ in our pockets at the end of the week.

Example:
I went for a 250 mile ride with 4 other friends last Sunday. We left Alcoa, TN to Townsend, TN to Pigeon Forge, TN to Newport, TN, to Morristown TN to Cherokee Lake and back to Knoxville and Oak Ridge via Rutledge Pike.