Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding for about 3 years, mainly every day to and from work with the occasional trip to the mountains. I feel competant , but wouldn't say I'm particularly good or improving.
I was thinking or taking some additional courses offered at the msf or maybe an intro Track day, but I'm not sure the best way to go about learning.
What has helped you improve to where you are today?

·
Super Moderator
27,782 Posts
Track days and more training could be good. I'd say that going to the local school parking lot during off hours and practicing slow speed maneuvers was probably the best thing I did to build up my confidence and skills.

·
Registered
262 Posts
I live on a dead end road so there isn’t much traffic. I was riding an 02 Volusia for 6-7 years and last March bought a C50. The clutch lever is a lot lighter and throttle more responsive on the C50. I grab a bunch of pop cans from my receive bin and placed them at 20’ intervals down the centre of my road and practiced weaving around them. As I got better I would move them closer. I also practiced doing figure 8s around them. Really help me get the feel of the clutch and throttle and built my confidence. On the second day of my practicing some neighborhood kids came out with their bicycles to practice with me. Was a fun time.

·
Registered
326 Posts
I'll second the MSF course.
You'll need to be taught things you didn't know that you didn't know.

·
Registered
607 Posts
MSF teaches you mostly best practices and slow speed riding skills. Both are important, and even lifesaving. Once you take MSF level 1 and 2, and feel comfortable while practicing yourself, I would recommend learning higher speed riding. Just note that C50/90 and predecessors are not necessarily well equipped for a brisk "high G" ride in the mountains.