Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
785 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I recently bought a wolo dual horn setup, it was used and the original owner could not remember the exact model. After searching their site I figured it was closest to the airsplitter for motorcycles so I followed those instructions. I wired as shown in the "dual wire" instructions stating to wire 1 horn wire to the 85 point, 1 to the 86 point, 12V to the 30 and the positive lead on the compressor to the 87 point. After completing this and hooking up the airlines I of course was excited to deafen myself so I turn the key, press the horn.....nothing!

A little history of myself, I am a aircraft electrician in the Navy so of course my troubleshooting side kicks on so immediately I check the continuity between the horn contacts and the contacts on the relay and they both check good so wiring, check. Then I assume the relay is bad since it has been sitting in a damp garage for who knows how long so off to spend more money. Come home, slap it in....nothing! DAMMIT! Bust out the multimeter and monitor the voltage as I press the button on both 85 and 86 and there is no voltage when I press the button so the switch won't make in the relay. I am lost, please help!

·
Registered
5,258 Posts
One suggestion ... always double check the fuses. I spent 1/2 day trying to figure out why my relay switch did not work and I finally checked the fuse to the aux wires in the head light. I don't know how I did it, but I blew the fuse. I wasted a lot of time. Good luck.

·
Registered
785 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I installed an accessory fuse block and I did check power at pin 30, it was good.

·
Premium Member
9,223 Posts
Dustin,

You're not getting power to the relay. Do you have two wires from the compressor? You stated the + wire to the relay is connected to post 87, which is correct. There should be a - wire from the compressor which needs to be grounded.