Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2009 C50, I just pick my bike up a week ago. I'm waiting on paperwork to get hard tags for her and have yet to really take her out for a good ride. I have been practicing riding in my Cul De Sac and around the block. No traffic concerns here. But I have a concern with my handle bars height. I’m a newbie rider 6’4 and my handle bar when fully turned left or right seem a little low for me and actually will hit my knees on either side if I don’t shift my legs out the way. Are there any type of handle bar raisers to give my bars a little more height so the bar don’t hit my knee if fully turned left or right? Or can the standard handle bars be rotated forward a bit to create clearance?

·
Premium Member
2,032 Posts
Yes you can rotate the bars up a bit and you can also add risers. I believe you can up to 4" riser without have to change you cables. A lot of people try 2" spacers first. They go under you existing stock risers.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Great I was hoping it was something as basic as that. Now being that this is my first bike and I've never worked on a bike. What's the level of difficulty? Or is this type of adjustment best suited for my local bike shop?

·
Premium Member
2,032 Posts
No, this is an easy DYI job.

First and foremost, cover your tank with towels so if/when your handlebars drop they wont scratch the tank.

Brake, but do not completely loosen, the nut under each riser. Then pop the plastic chrome bolt covers off the OEM risers.
Loosen the allen head bolts, carefully lower your handlebars, then completely remove all 4 bolts.
Place the handlebars on the tank and finish removing the risers.

Then just install your new riser or spacers.

Remember to use loc-tight on the riser bolts.

Jim's Spacers

Suzuki Boulevard Volusia C90,C50 2" Handlebar Risers | eBay

I have these risers installed: