Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

Newbie here. I just picked up a 2003 Volusia with very low mileage:biglaugh:. The PO had the bike fall over and slightly bent the bars. The left side is about 1/2 closer to the tank. I noticed this yesterday and now that I see it it is driving me crazy and I am wondering if anyone has ever tried to straighten their bars? If so how and what were your results?

I know replacements are available but I am also considering installing a set of straight (drag) bars. If anyone has the straight bars on an otherwise stock volusia how does it feel and how much does it change your riding position? If any member here has any personal experience on my issue I would greatly appreciate your comments.

I'm just trying to figure what may be the best action to take. I'm about 5'-11" with long arms and legs, I am looking to use this bike for transportation to the family's summer home about 150 miles away on the interstate.

By the way, great site and great members. I have been lurking here since last February and have learned a lot about my bike from everyone's experiences. Thank you!

·
Super Moderator
25,177 Posts
If the bars are bent, I wouldn't try to straighten them. Take it is a sign from heaven that you need those drag bars. :biglaugh: My concern with trying to straighten them is that you might weaken them in the process.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
624 Posts
Yeah, don't try to straighten them. Have you ever bent a paper clip back and forth until it broke. Similar idea. It can get bent once or twice, but keep doing it and its gonna fatigue and break.

jpcycles brand or santee or pretty cheap. Go for new bars, or look in the swap meet if you want stock bars. Someone's always parting some out.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Whiskey & GrapeApe,

Thanks for the comments! I will look for a replacement.