Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
637 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I went to give the bike a once over and see that the left side of my front tire is really getting worn. I know the left will wear faster than the right here in the US, but these tires only have about 5K miles. Should they be this far down? Is it time to panic? This picture is the worst section.

BTW, the nasty scratch on the fender was there when I bought it. Don't blame me.

I appreciate any input from folks with more experiance than me. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
16,535 Posts
I'm no expert but I would replace it myself. That just looks like it could slide out from under you in a curve to me.

·
Registered
283 Posts
I have never seen a tire where like that. I would change that also. Gotta effect the way your bike handles.

·
Premium Member
28,465 Posts
:shock: That is shot! Does the bike handle funny at all? I wonder if the tire is out of balance to wear that much in so few miles.

·
Registered
6,571 Posts
I wonder if the fender scratch has something to do with a hard hit on the front tweaking the forks a bit?

·
Registered
637 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks everyone. I was ready to run out and replace it, but was afraid I was over reacting.

I have exactly the same number of miles on me as the tires, so my well of experience is not very deep.

·
Registered
637 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
JimKo said:
I wonder if the fender scratch has something to do with a hard hit on the front tweaking the forks a bit?
Oh great. Now I can worry about that!!

·
Registered
3,005 Posts
JimKo said:
That's exactly what I was thinking too..

waterdog,you need to have your tire guy check out that rim to see if it's true and that the bearings didn't get fouled up when that scratch occured... I'm guessing someone went down hard... if the rim is good, I would keep a REAL close eye on your new tire.. If it starts to wear like this I'd visit a frame guy to have your frame and forks aligned.

·