1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Super Moderator
4,731 Posts
Welcome your first post... Greetings from Central PA

·
Administrator
55,766 Posts
I was wondering if I could put a 1400/1500 into the frame of an 800. Without to much trouble? I have basic knowledge but know how to you tube.. lol and read a Haynes manual.. lol I love my bike I just want more go..
Nope.....unless You'd care to remake the frame and all related components. Not really worth the effort.
Set up a Sneaky Pete NOS sytem and you'll have a small burst of pep now and then.

·
Registered
20,762 Posts
No. Nothing is interchangeable.

·
Registered
20,762 Posts
Yes, we have. The engine and transmission are stressed members of the frame, so if the bolt holes dont line up, it won't fit no matter how hard you push. The engine casing is physically larger, meaning the VL800 frame needs to be cut, sleeved and welded back together to accommodate the larger block. The LS1500 fuel system was carried in the frame, not above in the tank, so the VL800 tank will not work to supply fuel. Lastly, the VL800 and LS1500 have different wiring harnesses, so you would have to completely rewire the bike to make it work.

So short of completely fabricating a new frame and effectively building an LS1500 from scratch, there's no way to make it work.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Yes, we have. The engine and transmission are stressed members of the frame, so if the bolt holes dont line up, it won't fit no matter how hard you push. The engine casing is physically larger, meaning the VL800 frame needs to be cut, sleeved and welded back together to accommodate the larger block. The LS1500 fuel system was carried in the frame, not above in the tank, so the VL800 tank will not work to supply fuel. Lastly, the VL800 and LS1500 have different wiring harnesses, so you would have to completely rewire the bike to make it work.

So short of completely fabricating a new frame and effectively building an LS1500 from scratch, there's no way to make it work.