Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

Well, I feel like an idiot, but I'm assuming I didn't have a strong enough coolant mix for this cold snap we got a few weeks ago. I went in the garage today to start her up and there's a puddle of coolant below the front jug. I didn't want to start it because I didn't want to cause any further damage.

The problem is, I've got no idea what to check before I do anything further! From what I can tell, it appears it may have come from the gasket about half way up the jug... but I don't know whats behind that gasket... I've never done anything mechanical on her before...

Any advice on where I should start now that it's thawed?

Checked the radiator, and I don't see any coolant from it

Checked the upper part of the jug, don't see anything that came from the hose

That's as far as I went before searching the forum here and coming up empty.

Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
3,197 Posts
Hey guys,

Well, I feel like an idiot, but I'm assuming I didn't have a strong enough coolant mix for this cold snap we got a few weeks ago. I went in the garage today to start her up and there's a puddle of coolant below the front jug. I didn't want to start it because I didn't want to cause any further damage.

The problem is, I've got no idea what to check before I do anything further! From what I can tell, it appears it may have come from the gasket about half way up the jug... but I don't know whats behind that gasket... I've never done anything mechanical on her before...

Any advice on where I should start now that it's thawed?

Checked the radiator, and I don't see any coolant from it

Checked the upper part of the jug, don't see anything that came from the hose

That's as far as I went before searching the forum here and coming up empty.

Thanks!
The first thing to do is beg, borrow or purchase an antifreeze tester. They are about $10 if you buy one.

Test the antifreeze.