Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8,278 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have read numerous threads that Vol/Bols are set lean from the factory. I recently did some playing with stock mufflers (installed shorty glass packs into the empty muffler) and when taking them apart I noticed that there was an awful lot of black exhaust soot (not oil carbon-but gas carbon) in the mufflers. To me that says "rich" not "lean". My bike is stock (1300 miles) except for the mufflers. When changing from the stock mufflers to the glass packed ones I noticed a distinct puff (large one) of black smoke on start up and subsequent throttle increases. It went away after a minute or so (FI computer re-adjusted for the decreased back pressure?). I'm a fair mechanic (played with lots of carburetor vehicles) but I'm not to sure about FI (except for diesel engines). My question is; If it seems to run rich (black smoke) can I install a K&N air filter in the stock housing without having to re-map? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

·
Registered
3,125 Posts
My 02 Vol has to be on the lean side, as when it is cold, the only thing that keeps it running is a little more choke-which equals more fuel. My pipes are black and sooty inside as well, and I would suspect all are, as a by product of combustion. I get a black puff from time to time when accelerating, and I suspect it is more noticable since the debaffle simply because there is less restriction inside the muffler to trap the particulates.
I wouldn't install a less restrictive airbox or filter without changing the fuel mix.

·
Administrator
51,645 Posts
Generally speaking, (I'm not the General), it's best to do the mods such as pipes, K&N filter, and fuel processors at the same time, and have the mapping and dyno work done at that time too!

This way You will be sure of proper fuel mixture and good bike-a-bility (that's a synonym for drive-a-bility). And probably the max BHP too!........ZOOM,ZOOM,ZOOM! :wayhappy: