Suzuki Volusia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
1,209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As some of you know, 2 years ago I was hit by a minivan and my beloved C50 was written off. I had been admiring the Nomad for a few years, and before I even knew if I would ever ride again I had bought a new-to-me Nomad and parked it in the garage. A few weeks of physio and mental prep later I hopped on and went for a ride, and spent the better part of the past 2 years enjoying being back in the saddle.

As time went by my various hip, back, neck, and shoulder injuries bothered me more and more. I tweaked and I adjusted and I tried, but I could never get quite 100% comfortable on the Nomad. It really is a great bike, with lots of power and great looks, but just not for me any more. The last straw was the end of July when I took my wife for a weekender through northern Montana and Going to the Sun Road. Beautiful sights to be sure, but at the end of the ride we were both stiff and my wife suggested I go buy something that would be more comfortable.

Cha-ching! :moneyeyes:

I shopped around for a few weeks and finally bought a 2006 GW with everything but an airbag, barely broken in at 76,000km (45,000 miles), and a 2008 Fibrocorp trailer, all in mint shape. First test ride sealed the deal for me, but a 150km solo ride through Kananaskis on Sunday had me grinning from ear to ear. Nice low center of gravity, smoothe as silk, and power to spare. I found myself doing a few sweepers and twisties at 130-140 kmh (80mph) without even knowing it the thing was so smoothe. Don't know if I will keep the trailer, but since it was basically free with the bike, I think I will keep it for now and see if we get much use out of it.

It's snowing today, so everything is parked in the garage, but pics to follow ASAP.

·
Registered
1,209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 · (Edited)
Got pics?

What he sez ^^ ;)