Suzuki Volusia Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thanks for the add. I recently purchased a 2005 m50 with 36,000 miles on it. Near as I can tell, the previous owners were very good about maintaining it. My issue is this; when the temperature dips into the 50's and below, the bike won't start. It cranks and cranks, and then floods. If it gets up into the 60's, she starts fine. I live in the high desert of Oregon, so it's pretty dry here. I'm wondering if the intake air temp sensor could be the culprit. I don't have any codes that I know of, and I'm ordering the dealer mode switch so I'll know for sure. When she runs, she runs pretty good. No backfires, and idles fine. It's truly and odd thing. If that sensor controls how much fuel to add, I could see it adding more if it thinks it's colder than it is. But I'm not a mechanic, so that may not be the proper way to think about it.

I searched the forum for something similar, but didn't find anything. Thanks in advance for anything that might be doing this.

·
Super Moderator
23,799 Posts
hang in there and hopefully someone can offer some helpful advice.

·
Registered
1,089 Posts
Welcome to the forum from a fellow Oregonian! Not sure what's causing your problem, but someone should be along soon with more knowledge. Hope it's something simple.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Welcome to the forum from a fellow Oregonian! Not sure what's causing your problem, but someone should be along soon with more knowledge. Hope it's something simple.
Oregon is such a nice state to ride in. I’m in the southeastern part, and traffic isn’t an issue. Wildlife and cattle are, though.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Along with wind and temp and how far to the next gas?