Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi Everyone,

Thanks to the folks on this site, I’ve learned a lot when it comes to wiring on a motorcycle. However, I'm a novice at best, so I wanted to get some opinions about what I'm planning on doing before I mess things up.

I already have an accessories fuse box using a relay as shown in the Volusia Riders posting at:
http://www.volusiariders.com/60-help/162470-how-wiring-new-accessories-through-relay.html
That’s been done and working well for 2 years. It works great for automatically cutting accessory power when I shut off the ignition.
However, as I add more and more accessories, I want a little more control of turning devices on and off, yet I still want to have them all shut off automatically when I turn the bike off so I don’t drain the battery.
So here’s what I was thinking of doing… Instead of running everything directly to the fuse box, I was planning on adding additional relays and with a switch to control them. Basically, the power would be like the following:

Common
1. Fused power to a relay, which powers the accessory fuse block.
Per Switched Accessory
1. Then power from the accessory fuse box to another relay that’s controlled by a switch
2. Then power from that second relay to an accessory.

I still want the accessories fuse box, but I also want to be able to turn some of the stuff on/off manually

Are there any issues with that?

As always, thanks for the assistance!

·
Registered
4,465 Posts
Without going into any remarks on your wiring plan, I would kindly remind you that your dealing with a C50 and not overtax the charging system with too many accessories.

At some point, you may be upside down regards to what the stator is producing and leave you stranded with a dead battery.

·
Super Moderator
3,197 Posts
Hi Everyone,