Suzuki Volusia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!

I'm from upstate NY and a total noob to this forum and bike. Personally I ride a '13 Triumph Bonneville,

BUT.....

In the next week or so my 5'2", 105 lbs. better half hopes to get a Suzuki C50T. I dig this bike!

There are 2 used ones that the sales guy is pretty sure the hold will be released on....the guy has not responded to his calls.

1) A 2009 C50T with approx 3800 miles and cobra pipes. Test rode it, looks pretty well taken care of. Red tag down to $5200.00.

2) A 2011 C50T with about 3800 miles also but stock pipes. Didn't see this bike. $5900.00.

3) a new 2014 C50T right now for $8200-ish. With only 2000.00 trade-in this seems like a pretty chuck o' change to put out....gulp.

I tried to figure out by searching here which aftermarket cobra exhaust to put on the 2011 since it's newer, but couldn't confirm which if any? Something change at '09?

Any thoughts or quirks or issues that would make me shy away from used?

I'm not too scared of modding this bike if it's manageable. I've changed my Triumphs exhaust, lowered it on both ends an inch, removed my AI and O2 sensors and remapped it with an aftermarket tune program. Not sure if these bikes need ANY thing or if the ECU is "locked". Just looked at the bikes yesterday afternoon!

I thank you in advance for answering my possibly stupid questions and that this is super long. ;)

Leslie

·
Registered
382 Posts
Welcome, Leslie!

Others know better than I do, but I think there have been no significant changes to the C50's since 2009. In other words, the 2009 - 2014 models are essentially the same and use the same aftermarket parts.