Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the motorcycle world and like to do my own maintenance. I'm hoping to gain some knowledge here. Yesterday I washed my bike. Then I took it for a drive. I rode around town for a little over an hour with no issues. Then the bike felt like it ran a little rough, so I pulled the choke out a bit and it seemed to go away. Then a couple miles later the engine cut off. Initially after engine shut down the bike would fire off for a couple seconds and then shut back down. Now it turns over strong, but won't fire up. I let it sit a while, I pulled the choke, and I pulled back on the throttle a few time (not all at the same time of course).

I'm ready to dig into it, but am looking for some wisdom before I start.

Thanks so much for any help you can provide!

Phil

·
Super Moderator
3,197 Posts
If you are going to do your own maintenance, the first thing to do is obtain a manual. the Clymers manuals are good but there might be others in addition to the factory manual from the dealer.

The one thing that I notice from your post is about the choke. Either it isn't a VL800 or it isn't a 2008.

If it is a 2008, and has a choke, it is most likely a VS800 or S50 as the badge says.

As you likely know, an engine needs 3 things to run correctly... spark, fuel and compression. We won't talk compression problems yet....

The easiest to check is the spark...... It is easier to pull the plug wires for this check if the fuel tank is lifted. A test plug is recommended but you can get by with a screwdriver inserted in the plug clip in the wire end and held next to the engine to see the spark jump. Test both cylinders.

Since the engine cranks over, listen for the fuel pump as it primes the system with fuel when the key is first turned to the run position. If that happens your pump is at least operating so it should start.