Suzuki Volusia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I picked up a volusia from my uncle in law yesterday, its a 2003 Volusia and has 44,xxx miles he wants $2k for it but hasn't ran since Jan 2021. when i tried to move it out the shed he had it in, the back tire was locked and i could not get it to shift any gears, im still a amateur at fixing motorcycles but i always do my research on parts and stuff, but i want to know what i should tackle first to try to fix this bike before i buy it. Even with the clutch pulled in the back tire does not free up, day before yesterday the gears shifted but it would not go to neutral and now its just not shifting at all, it feels slightly like it is shifting but it doesnt go all the way up or down. I read a post that i should start with a oil change due to the same oil for the motor and tranny but i figured i would start with the clutch first due to it not engaging like it should? i need opinions on what might be the problem or suggestions on what to start doing with it. Thanks for reading! Excited to be part of the Volusia team! but this is the first one i have seen/heard of.

·
Registered
1,772 Posts
1. you're going to have to roll it forward and back while fiddling with the shifter...probably best to make several downshift attempts before looking for neutral. this gearbox tends to be a pain in the ass when it wants to...especially when the bike is not moving.

2. The clutch is definitely in need of lubrication between its plates (dry and stuck together from sitting). tighten up the clutch cable, squeeze and release the clutch lever several times, then put the bike in gear and while holding the clutch in roll the bike back and forth as far as it will roll...should pop it loose.

Assuming you have not started the bike.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·