Suzuki Volusia Forum banner

Why did you start riding? How long have you been riding?

4K views 75 replies 61 participants last post by  C-50 Rider 
#1 ·
Myself I was afraid, but a touch of the C four years ago and figured what the hell.

Started riding three years ago, took my course while my wife (now ex) was visiting family and bought an old Honda.

I was instantly addicted. It feels lame driving a car now.

The bike, the dog and the radio make me a happy rider.

#2 ·
I started riding in 1991. I had always wanted to ride. I remember my friend's parents getting their licenses when I was 16. I thought that was weird and why didn't they act their age. Still, it also made me want to ride.

As I was entering my 30's I realized it was "now or never." My husband (now-ex) bought two clunkers for a total of $200. I took the safety course in July of '91. The rest is history (or herstory)... :lol:

#3 ·
We owned a full sized conversion van that got, at best, 10 mpg. Usually, it was just me in the van as I ran errands while the kids were in school. When gas prices skyrocketed a few years back, my bicycle and feet became important modes of transport, but weren't so good for when I needed to travel farther than 3 miles. So I asked Skrapiron about buying a scooter for use around town. He had his wallet and the checkbook and was in the van before I finished my question.
We bought a Yamaha Vino 50 that day. I took the MSF BRC two weeks later. Getting 90 mpg while running errands let us save enough money that Skrap bought the Vino 125 for himself later that summer.
We've upgraded through the years, but we'll be buying another 50cc when Grenade Girl turns 16 and gets her driver's license.

#4 ·
When? Started this February, at age 45.

Why? For 40 of my 45 years (ever since I saw my Grandfather on an orange Honda CB???), I've been told I shouldn't, can't or won't ever have a bike.